Connect with us

NEWS

Realme Bets Harry Potter Can Sell an Aging 16 Pro

realme’s Harry Potter 16 Pro is a second Warner Bros collector skin on an eight-month-old phone, with no price, date or unit cap.

Published

on

Realme on September 8, 2026 announced a Harry Potter Edition of the realme 16 Pro 5G, its second Warner Bros. Discovery tie-up after last year’s Game of Thrones phone. The 16 Pro itself went on sale in January. The company has not set a price, a launch date or a unit cap for the Potter skin.

That gap is the bet. realme is asking fans to care about a Hogwarts crest, a co-branded logo and a trunk-shaped box on a mid-range phone that has already been in shops for eight months, while the chip, camera and battery stay the ones from January.

A Hogwarts Trunk and a Hidden Rear Panel

The announcement was made in New Delhi with Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products. Design cues named so far are gold accents, a Hogwarts crest and an exclusive co-branded logo that mixes the Harry Potter wordmark with realme’s own mark. Software gets themed elements too. The company has not shown the phone’s back.

What it has shown is the box. The packaging is built to look like a Hogwarts school trunk, with a brown leather-style finish, brass rivets and a gold crest on the front, plus the words “Realme 16 Pro 5G Harry Potter Edition.” Francis Wong, realme’s head of product marketing, posted a short clip the same morning with the line “Pure magic in your hands.”

The global brand account followed with its own trailer. Pairing the drop with Apple’s September window oversells what is on the table. This is a collector skin of a Dimensity 7300 Max phone, not a new flagship class.

A Flipkart microsite is already live, which points to India sales through that store and realme’s own site once a date is set. Until then the trunk is doing the selling.

Game of Thrones Already Wrote This Script

On October 8, 2025, realme and the same Warner Bros. unit launched the realme 15 Pro Game of Thrones Limited Edition. Hardware matched the standard 15 Pro from July 2025. The extras were a heat-sensitive back that turns red above 44°C, Ice and Dragonfire interface themes, a 3D dragon-claw camera surround and a Westeros gift box with an Iron Throne stand and a Hand of the King SIM pin.

That phone listed at ₹44,999 for the sole 12GB + 512GB model, ₹6,000 above the regular 12GB + 512GB 15 Pro’s ₹38,999 launch price. A ₹3,000 bank offer cut the effective tag to ₹41,999. Global supply was capped at 5,000 units.

TWO WARNER BROS. NUMBER-SERIES PHONES

Detail 15 Pro Game of Thrones 16 Pro Harry Potter
Partner Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products
Date October 8, 2025 September 8, 2026 (announced)
Hardware vs regular Pro Unchanged Unchanged, per the spec sheet issued with the announcement
India list price ₹44,999 (12GB + 512GB) Not disclosed
Global run 5,000 units Not disclosed
Box Westeros set with Iron Throne stand Hogwarts trunk with brass rivets

The Potter phone is the same move run one generation later, on a device that has had a much longer life in retail. The 15 Pro special arrived about three months after the plain model. The 16 Pro special arrives in month eight.

What the Harry Potter Edition Changes on the 16 Pro?

The Harry Potter Edition keeps the standard 16 Pro’s screen, chip, cameras and battery and adds Hogwarts styling, themed software and the trunk box. realme has not listed a unique camera filter set, a color-changing back or a numbered global run, all of which the Game of Thrones phone had on day one.

The 16 Pro series launched in India on January 6, 2026 and went on sale on January 8. Launch prices were ₹31,999 for 8GB + 128GB, ₹33,999 for 8GB + 256GB and ₹36,999 for 12GB + 256GB, with a bank offer that took the base phone to ₹28,999. Indian listings for the 8GB + 128GB model now sit at ₹44,999, ₹13,000 above that launch tag, after a run of memory and chipset cost increases through the year.

HARDWARE THAT CARRIES OVER

  • Display: 6.78-inch AMOLED, 1,272 × 2,772 pixels, 144Hz, 240Hz touch sampling, 450 ppi, 1,400 nits HBM and 6,500 nits peak.
  • Chip: 4nm MediaTek Dimensity 7300 Max with an Arm Mali-G615 GPU, LPDDR4X RAM and UFS 3.1 storage.
  • Cameras: 200MP f/1.8 main with 2-axis OIS, 8MP f/2.2 ultrawide and a 50MP f/2.4 front camera.
  • Battery: 7,000mAh typical (6,830mAh rated) with 80W Ultra Charge.
  • Software: realme UI 7.0 on Android 16.

Those figures sit on realme’s official 16 Pro specification sheet. The body is about 162.60mm tall, 77.60mm wide and 7.75mm to 7.79mm thick, at about 192g. Global memory cuts listed there are 8GB + 256GB, 12GB + 256GB and 12GB + 512GB. India also sold an 8GB + 128GB cut at launch. Which of those the Potter phone will use is still open.

Warner Bros. Is Licensing Potter Into Toys and Cake Mixes

Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products is the other party with money on the table. The unit licenses Harry Potter across toys, fashion, home goods and food, and a mid-range Android phone now sits in that mix. On February 10, 2026, Hasbro said it would become the global Hasbro as primary toy licensee for Harry Potter and the coming HBO series, with the toy deal starting in 2027. Robert Oberschelp, president of Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products, called the fan base one of the most enduring in entertainment.

Food is in the same push. General Mills this year put Hogwarts houses and Chocolate Frogs on Betty Crocker Harry Potter baking kits and Pillsbury Golden Snitch cookies. A 16 Pro with a crest on the back is another licensed object in that wave, sold to people who already live with the books, the films and the parks.

For Warner Bros., the phone is a walking billboard in a youth market realme claims as its home turf. For realme, the license is a way to put a new name on a handset whose January spec sheet is no longer news.

Naruto, Coca-Cola and the 5,000-Unit Playbook

Xu Qi, also called Chase Xu, vice president and CMO of realme, tied the Potter phone to younger buyers and to the company’s “Make it real” line. He has used collabs this way before. After the Aston Martin F1 tie-up he said some people had never used a realme phone until the badge pulled them in, and that Naruto and Coca-Cola had done the same job of reaching users the brand had not broken through to.

This collaboration marks a significant step in our journey to make technology more joyful and meaningful. Working with Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products on a product inspired by Harry Potter allows us to create experiences that empower young people to discover their own magic. We are thrilled to invite fans worldwide to embrace the magic of Hogwarts and make their dreams real.

Xu Qi, Vice President and CMO, realme

The company’s own brand history lists Dragon Ball and Free Fire editions beside Coca-Cola. The GT Neo 3 Naruto phone in 2022 was capped at 5,000 units. The 10 Pro 5G Coca-Cola edition in 2023 was capped at 1,000. The Game of Thrones 15 Pro repeated the 5,000-unit ceiling. Potter has no ceiling yet, and no ticket price, so the scarcity lever that made those drops feel like merch is still unpulled.

THE COLLAB RUN INTO HOLLYWOOD

  1. 2022: GT Neo 3 Naruto Edition, 5,000 units, China-first anime skin.
  2. 2023: 10 Pro 5G Coca-Cola Edition, 1,000 units.
  3. October 8, 2025: 15 Pro Game of Thrones Limited Edition, 5,000 units, first Warner Bros. Discovery number-series phone.
  4. September 8, 2026: 16 Pro 5G Harry Potter Edition announced, terms still open.

realme says its community has grown past 300 million users. A 5,000-unit run would not move that number. It would give the 16 Pro a second news cycle and give Warner Bros. a device that fans photograph in the hand.

The Edition Still Has No Price or Launch Date

The company can ship this phone tomorrow on paper, because the internals already exist. What it has not done is say how much extra the crest and the trunk will cost, how many will be made, or which countries get it beyond the India-facing Flipkart page. The Game of Thrones phone answered those three questions on launch day.

WHAT WE KNOW

  • The partner: Warner Bros. Discovery Global Consumer Products, the same unit behind the 15 Pro Game of Thrones phone.
  • The body: Hogwarts-inspired design, gold accents, crest, co-branded logo, themed software, trunk box.
  • The internals: Same 16 Pro hardware named with the announcement, including the Dimensity 7300 Max, 200MP camera and 7,000mAh cell.

WHAT IS UNCONFIRMED

  • Commerce: India price, global price, sale date and which memory cut will be sold.
  • Run size: No 5,000-unit style cap has been stated.
  • Extras: No confirmed color-changing back, numbered certificate or full accessory list to match the Westeros box.

Until those land, the Harry Potter Edition is a license and a trunk wrapped around a phone India has been able to buy since January 8. The bet is that the crest is enough to make someone pay, or wait, for a 16 Pro they had already stopped looking at.

Harry is the editor of AKRON SCORE, his own independent title, and numbers are the part of the job he takes most seriously. Ten years of newsroom work, reporter first and later editor, taught him that a wrong figure does more damage than a wrong adjective, so every score, percentage, price and headcount is traced to its origin: the official box score, the audited accounts, the published dataset, the spec sheet, the government release. If a number cannot be sourced it does not appear. He writes for readers in every time zone across ten sections, giving sports and gaming the same care as news, business, technology, science, entertainment, lifestyle, travel and auto. Corrections are made in public, under a policy published on the site: the article is amended, the change is dated and described at the foot of the piece, and the original error is not quietly deleted. Readers who find a figure that does not add up can write to support@akronscore.org and he will check it against the source.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trending